Dr. Menahem E.Yaari

President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. Menahem Yaari is a theoretical economist. At present, he is President of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities where he has served as a member since 1991.

Dr. Yaari was born in Jerusalem, and received his bachelor’s degree in economics and philosophy from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He obtained a Ph.D. degree in economics and statistics at Stanford University, California. He started his education career at Yale University, New Haven where
he was a member of the Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics. Later he became a Professor of Mathematical Economics at the Hebrew University.

Dr. Yaari's research has concentrated mainly in the areas of the economics of uncertainty, consumer theory, and economic justice. His research has been recognized both inside and outside Israel. He is a Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Foreign Honorary Member of American Economic Association. He is also a Fellow of Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences. He served as President of The Open University of Israel from 1992 to 1997 and is a founding member of The International Scientific Council of IPSO (Israeli-Palestinian Science Organization) and was a member of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton in 2000/2001. In 1987, he was awarded the Israel Prize.

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website