""Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Young-sik Park is an analytic philosopher. Over his career he has served as the Republic of Korea’ s Minister of Education, the Chairman of Korean Association of University Education, the President of Korean Philosophical Association and the President of Korea’s Yonsei and Kwangwoon Universities.

Dr. Park completed his master’s degree at Yonsei University in March 1960 and became a fulltime instructor at Yonsei’s Department of Philosophy, College of Liberal Arts. He started his career publishing papers on Plato, but in the mid-1960s his interest turned to analytical philosophy and he published “Logical Empiricism and Pseudo Proposition” (1967), “Problem of the Principle of Verification” (1968) and “Philosophical Analysis, its Nature and Difficulties” (1971).

In 1975 Dr. Park acquired a doctoral degree from Emory University in the USA. He then returned to Yosei University to teach analytical philosophy at the department of philosophy. Altogether he spent 37 years at the university.

Since 2000, Dr. Park has conducted education-related research for the Korean government, producing papers such as: “On Polices of Education in Knowledge-based Society” (Educational Policy Research 2000-S-28, Ministry of Education and Human Resources Development) and “A Plan to Improve Graduate School Education” (the political research task of the National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea, 2002).

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website