Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Before becoming a leading architect of his country's science and technology policies, Dr. R.A. Mashelkar did pioneering work in polymer science and engineering, which earned him many international laurels. He was the Director General of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, the largest publicly funded industrial research and development institution in the world, with thirty-eight laboratories and about 22,000 employees.

Dr. Mashelkar has over 236 publications to his credit, through which he has made ground-breaking contributions in non-Newtonian fluid mechanics, gel science and polymer reaction engineering. He was the third Indian engineer to be elected as Fellow of Royal Society (FRS), London in the twentieth century. Twenty-six universities have honored him with honorary doctorates, which include the universities of London, Salford, Pretoria, and Wisconsin.

Dr. Mashelkar is a Fellow of Royal Society; a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences and US National Academy of Engineering. He is also the President of Global Research Alliance. Dr. Mashelkar won over 40 awards and medals, which include Material Scientist of Year Award (2000), World Federation of Engineering Organizations Medal of Engineering Excellence (2003), Lifetime Achievement Award (2004), TWAS Science medal (2005), the Academy of Science for the Developing World and the Asutosh Mookherjee Memorial Award (2005) awarded by the Indian Science Congress. The President of India honored Dr. Mashelkar with Padmashri (1991) and Padmabhushan (2000), which are two of the highest civilian honors in recognition of his contribution to India.

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website