Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (Italian National Academy of Sciences)

Dr. Lamberto Maffei is an outstanding neurobiologist. He is a professor of Neurobiology at the Scuola Normale Superiore (Italy's leading research institution), University of Pisa, Italy. Since 1980, he has been Director of the Institute of Neuroscience of the Italian National Research Council (CNR) in Pisa.

Dr. Maffei was born in Grosseto, Italy. He studied the nervous system under the direction of a prominent neurophysiologist, Professor Giuseppe Moruzzi. From 1967 to 1996, he spent several periods abroad conducting research and teaching. His posts included Cambridge University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), the University of California, Davis and the Ecole Normale
Supérieure in Paris.

Dr. Maffei is a member of three Academies: the European Academy of Science, the American Academy of Arts and Science and the Italian National Academy of Sciences, where he has been vice-president since 2003. In addition, he is also a member of the Italian Ministry of University and Research’s Committee for Neurosciences and of the European Institute for Paraplegia.

With 271 scientific publications to his credit, Dr. Maffei has received several prestigious awards, such as the Award of the Italian Society for Electroencephalography and Clinical Neurophysiology in 1965 (together with G. Rizzolatti), Premio Golgi (Golgi Award) for Neurophysiology in 1975, Giuseppe
Giannuzzi Award for Research on the Nervous System in 1976, Feltrinelli Award for Medicine in 1979 and the Golgi Medal for Neuroscience in 1995.

He has also published several important books such as: Vision: From Neurophysiology to Psychology (with L. Mecacci) in 1980; Art and Brain (with Adriana Fiorentini) in 1995, and The Brain’s World in 1998.

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website