Professor Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica

Professor Yuan T. Lee was born in Hsinchu, Taiwan. In 1962, upon completing his Master’s degree, Prof. Lee entered the University of California at Berkeley. Three years later, under the late Professor Bruce Mahan, he obtained his PhD degree in the chemiionization process of electronically excited alkali atoms. After working as a postdoctoral researcher at Harvard University, Prof. Lee was recruited by the University of Chicago in 1968. In 1974, he returned to Berkeley as professor of chemistry and principal investigator at the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory of the University of California. In 1986, Prof. Lee, along with John C. Polanyi and Dudley R. Herschbach, won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for their contributions to the dynamics of chemical elementary processes.”

After receiving the Nobel Prize, Prof. Lee continued his research in chemical dynamics. He also directed much of his attention to the advancement of international scientific developments and to the promotion of general public affairs. In 1994, Professor Lee took the important step of returning to his home country to serve as President of Academia Sinica, the most preeminent academic institution in Taiwan. During his dozen year tenure, Prof. Lee worked hard to improve the quality of research in the Academy. Research conducted at Academia Sinica in several fields now rivals the best work done in other parts of the world. Ever since his return to Taiwan, Prof. Lee has also been taking an active role in promoting scientific and cultural developments in Taiwan.

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website