Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Guy Laval is a physicist. He was the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) Research Director at the Center for Theoretical Physics, École Polytechnique from 1971 to 2003, and the President of the French Physical Society (La Société Française de Physique) in 1987. He is currently the Foreign Secretary of the French Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Laval obtained his doctorate in physics from Paris University in 1967, under the supervision of Professor Jacques Yvon, one of the founders of theoretical liquid-state physics. From 1982 to 1989, he served as a Professor of Physics at École Polytechnique, the most prestigious Science and Engineering institution in France, from which he went on to become the school’s Vice-President for Education.

Dr. Laval's current main research interest is theoretical hot plasmas with applications to nuclear fusion and magnetospheric physics. He has been a member of the French Academy of Sciences since 2003. Dr. Laval has been a recipient of the CNRS Silver Medal (1972), the Joannides Prize of the French Academy of Sciences (1983) and the French Physical Society’s Jean Ricard Prize for Physics (1993).

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website