Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein is a theoretical physicist whose research centers around phenomenological models of hadronic interactions in particle physics and the clustering phenomena of particle production in hadron-nucleus and nucleus-nucleus interactions. He is the President of the Academy of Scientific Research and Technology in Egypt and Professor of Theoretical Physics and Vice Dean for Education at the Faculty of Science at Cairo University. Since 2006 he has also been the manager of Cairo University’s Center for Advanced Interdisciplinary Sciences.

Dr. Hussein received his BSc and PhD in high energy particle physics from Cairo University and has spent most of his career there. In 1995, he was awarded the Egyptian Prize in Physics and in 2000 he was awarded the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Medal in Physics.

Dr. Hussein coordinated the Egyptian National Committee on Synchrotron-light for Experimental Science and Applications in the Middle East (SESAME) in 2006. He is also a member of the Egyptian Physics Society.

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website