Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Yvan Guindon is an eminent chemist. His research into therapeutical chemistry has led to over 50 patents and many compounds that have been selected for development and evaluated in clinical trials. Dr. Guindon obtained a Ph.D. degree in Organic Chemistry at the Université de Montréal, Canada. He started his career with the pharmaceutical company Merck Frosst Canada in 1979 as a Senior Research Chemist going on to become Director of Medicinal Chemistry in 1984 and then Senior Director in 1985.

Throughout his career, Dr Guindon has maintained close relations with academia and pursued research related to the total synthesis of biologically interesting compounds, new synthetic methodology, and free-radical based reactions. As a professor of Chemistry at the Université de Montreal he has taught and supervised numerous graduate students. He is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Chemistry at McGill University, also in Montréal.

Prior to becoming Royal Society of Canada (RSC) president, Dr Guindon was appointed Director of the Bio-Organic Chemistry Laboratory at the Institut de Recherches Cliniques de Montréal (IRCM), a renowned biomedical research center, where he continues his research in organic and medicinal chemistry with a team of graduate students and post-doctoral fellows.

Dr. Guindon has received many distinctions and awards. He became a Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada in 1988 and was elected a Fellow of the RSC in 1990. He was made a member of the Order of Canada in 2004 and in 2006 he received the Lionel-Boulet award, one of the prestigious Prix du Québec awarded by the government of Québec highlighting his remarkable contribution to Quebec’ s technological and economic development in the area of medicinal chemistry.

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website