Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences

Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone is an atmospheric scientist whose research in atmospheric chemistry and climate change has shaped science and environmental policy at the highest levels, both nationally and internationally.

His research was recognized on the citation for the 1995 Nobel Prize in chemistry awarded to his University of California, Irvine colleague Frank Sherwood Rowland. The Franklin Institute recognized his fundamental contributions to the understanding of greenhouse gases and ozone depletion by selecting Dr. Cicerone as the 1999 laureate for the Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science. One of the most prestigious American awards in science, the Bower also recognized his public policy leadership in protecting the global environment.

In 2001, at the request of President Bush, Dr. Cicerone led a National Academy of Sciences study of the current state of climate change and its impact on the environment and human health. The American Geophysical Union awarded him the 2002 Roger Revelle Medal for outstanding research contributions to the understanding of the Earth’s atmospheric processes, biogeochemical cycles, and other key elements of the climate system. In 2004, the World Cultural Council honored him with another of the scientific community’s most distinguished awards, the Albert Einstein World Award in Science.

Prior to becoming NAS president, Cicerone was the chancellor of the University of California, Irvine from 1998 to 2005. He is also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society. He has served as president of the American Geophysical Union, the world’s largest society of earth scientists, and he received its James B. Macelwane Award in 1979 for outstanding contributions to geophysics.

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website