Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Professor of Physics and of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley

Steven Chu was co-winner of the 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics. He is the director of the prestigious Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), and Professor of Physics, and Molecular and Cell Biology at the University of California, Berkeley. He is also an Academia Sinica Academician.

Dr. Chu began his career in laboratory research as a postdoctoral fellow in physics at Berkeley in 1976. From 1978 he became a member of the technical staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories where he spent many years as the head of the Quantum Electronics Department and began his groundbreaking work in cooling and trapping atoms using laser light.

In 1987, he became a professor in the Physics and Applied Physics Departments at Stanford University. His work eventually led to the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1997, an honor he shared with Claude Cohen-Tannoudji of France and William D. Phillips of the United States. Their discoveries were
instrumental in the study of fundamental phenomena and in measuring important physical quantities with unprecedented precision.

Dr. Chu is a member of the Copenhagen Climate Council and co-chaired the InterAcademy Council (IAC) study “Lighting the Way: Toward a Sustainable Energy Future.” He is a Principal Investigator at the Energy Biosciences Institute for advanced bio-fuel research and served on the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Prospering Committee that produced the major report “Rising above the Gathering Storm.” He also serves on advisory committees to the Directors of the U.S. National Institutes of Health and the National Nuclear Securities Administration. He is a member of the NAS, the American Philosophical Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is also a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Korean Academy of Science and Engineering. He serves on the boards of the Hewlett Foundation, the University of Rochester, NVIDIA, and Scientific Board of the Moore Foundation.

Profile of Invited Guests
Dr. Steven Chu
Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone
President, US National Academy of Sciences
Dr. Tariq S. Durrani
Vice President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. David Fegan
Senior Vice President, Royal Irish Academy

Dr. Yvan Guindon
President, RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

Dr. Mohamed Tarek Hussein
President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, Egypt

Dr. Masaaki Kubo
President, The Japan Academy

Dr. Kurt Lambeck
President, Australian Academy of Science

Dr. Guy Laval
Foreign Secretary, French Academy of Sciences

Dr. Yuan T. Lee
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica
Dr. Lamberto Maffei
Vice-President, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
(Italian National Academy of Sciences)
Dr. R. A. Mashelkar
Former President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. József Pálinkás
President, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Young-sik Park
Vice-president, National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea

Dr. Günter Stock
President, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

Dr. M. Vijayan
President, Indian National Science Academy

Dr. Menahem E.Yaari
President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Join Us
On-line Registration
Contact Us
Where Are We
Academia Sinica Website